

FIFTH NATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITION



29-31 MARCH, 2024

Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law IIT Kharagpur

About IIT Kharagpur

Founded in 1951 by the Government of India, the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IIT Kharagpur) is a public research university located in Kharagpur, West Bengal. With time, the institute has evolved to become a hub of multidisciplinary research and education. Today, it houses a diverse range of schools and centers that extend beyond technology to include fields like management, medical technology, law, humanities, music, traditional knowledge systems, happiness studies, and social sciences, among others. Recognised as an Institute of National Importance, it received the additional honour of being designated an Institute of Eminence in 2019 by the Indian Government. IIT Kharagpur consistently ranks as one of India's most prestigious academic establishments.



About RGSOIPL

Established in 2006, the Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law (RGSOIPL) is unique within the IIT system for its focus on technology and law. It offers LL.B. program with an emphasis on Intellectual Property Law, and also LL.M. and Ph.D. programs in Law. The faculty is multidisciplinary and engaged in various research projects, while the curriculum is global. Practical training is offered through workshops and clinical courses, and students have excelled in competitions and conferences. RGSOIPL alumni work in diverse sectors, from industry to academia.

About 5th National Moot Court Competition

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur is renowned for its commitment to excellence in education and fostering intellectual growth. In line with this ethos, IIT Kharagpur has been organising National Moot Court Competition (NMCC) with great enthusiasm. Through its rigorous and engaging format, NMCC continues to serve as a beacon of legal excellence, fostering the growth of future legal professionals in India. NMCC is an event that focuses on numerous areas of law. This brings for law students an excellent opportunity hone their to advocacy skills, test their knowledge of law, and engage in constructive legal interaction and discourse.

Knowledge partners:





NMCC follows a format typical of moot court competitions, where participants prepare required to written are memorials and present oral arguments. The competition includes various rounds, including preliminary rounds, guarter-finals, semi-finals, and the final. A distinguished panel of judges, comprising of legal experts practitioners evaluates and the performance of the participating teams.

> PRIZES WORTH RS. 2 LAKHS!

Important Dates



7 Oct 2023

Release of the Moot Proposition

15 Feb 2024

Last date for requesting clarification from the Moot Court Committee regarding the Moot Proposition and Rules (can be made via email: mootcourt@rgsoipl.iitkgp.ac.in).

20 Feb 2024 (11.59PM)

Last date for payment of registration fee of Rs. 4500/- per team. Only one person must make the payment on behalf of all the members in a team.

24 Feb 2024 (11:59PM) Last date for memorial submission (soft copy) by the teams. (Can be made via email: mootcourt@rgsoipl.iitkgp.ac.in)

27 Feb 2024

Communication to the selected teams by the Moot Court Committee based on evaluation of the submitted memorials.

29, 30 and 31 Mar, 2024

Dates of Competition.

Proposition, Rules Registration

Moot Proposition

Click <u>here</u> to access the moot proposition.

Moot Court Rules and Registration

Click on the respective phrases to access:

- moot court rules with registration annexure
- registration link
- registration instructions
- payment instructions



mootcourtqueries@gmail.com

Organising Committee



Prof. V.K. Tiwari- Patron in chief, Director, IIT Kharagpur Prof. Dipa Dube- Dean, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Prof. M Padmavati- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Prof. K.D. Raju- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Uday Shankar- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. S R Subramanian- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Shreya Matilal- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Arindam Basu- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. B.K. Sidhu- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Gouri Gargate- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Niharika Sahoo- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Shuvro P Sarker- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Narendran Thiruthy- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Prakash Sharma- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur Dr. Shakti Deb- Faculty, RSOIPL, IIT Kharagpur

Organising Committee

Hospitality Management:

Anirban Panja Shivali Prasad Ahmad Salik Rehman Shriyash Shingare Abhijeet Saini Ayush Tiwari Neeraj Paulose Raj Dhanavath Naik Mohit Kumar

Satya Narayan Rath Uttam Kumar Keshav Udit Bhaskar Rahul Verma Satyam Chaudhary S Subramaniam Oshin Sharma

Research:

STUDENTE

Sumeet Guha Shikha Priyadarshini Jishnu A Sivashankar Bharadwaj Ujjwal Kumar Purushothaman Himanshi Gupta Muthuselvan C Harsh Tripathi Sankarshanan V V

Outreach, Media and Sponsorships:

Aishwarya Mukherjee Sachin Saraswat Manaswi Shroti Vinay Pulijala Vivek Kumar

Organising Committee

Court Room Management:

Atul Dubey Yadnesh Kulkarni Anil Kumar R Gourab Mondal Bharathwaj R Siddhartha M A Vaishnavi Choudhary Sivashankar L Ayush Anand Sagar Kriti Chulet Arya Awasthi Akanksha Chaudhary

Amit Vinayak Ingle Pranav Saptarshi Pramanik Tapas Mani Das Akhilesh Dheer M. Samuel Ankith C Anunanda Vivechana Chauhan Riya Singh Mannam Jeevanthika Aman Rawat

Cultural (Program and Awards):

Sherin Munmunlisa Kankana Shreyasee Anupam Krishna Dhaneesha P. B. Shambhavi Tripathi Sonali Anina Varghese Deepak A Rangari

Registration and Queries:

FTWDENT

Krishna Das Sarthak Pandya Shilpa Mitra

Queries & Submissions



8250139018 (Shilpa Mitra) 8447822363 (Uttam Kumar)



mootcourtqueries@gmail.com (for general queries)



mootcourt@rgsoipl.iitkgp.ac.in (for memorial submissions only)