Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur



Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

5th Indo-Austrian Symposium on Materials Engineering

12th & 13th December, 2024

Patron-in-Chief: Mr. T.V. Narendran Chairperson, BOG, IIT Kharagpur CEO & Managing Director, Tata Steel Ltd.

Patron: Prof. V.K. Tiwari Director, IIT Kharagpur

Click here to visit IASME 2024 Website

Introduction

The Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering at IIT Kharagpur is privileged to host the 5th Indo-Austrian Symposium (IASME 2024) on Materials Engineering, scheduled for December 12th and 13th, 2024. The primary goals of this Symposium are to address the challenges related to materials for high-temperature applications, explore new horizons in advanced steels, brainstorm about research activities in additive manufacturing, materials for sustainable societies and solutions for environmental degradation. IASME 2024 seeks to bring together scientists, researchers, and engineers with varied backgrounds, encompassing research institutes, universities, and industries, to facilitate the sharing of ideas and collaboration. We warmly invite you to join us in Kharagpur on December 12th and 13th.

Thrust Areas

- High-Temperature Materials
- Advanced Steels
- Additive Manufacturing
- Materials for Sustainability
- Environmental Degradation
- Computational Materials Science
- Emerging Materials

Contact

Chair: Prof. Shiv Brat Singh

Co-chair: Prof. Ille Christine Gebeshuber

Convener: Prof. Rahul Mitra

Email: iasme2024@metal.iitkgp.ac.in

About the Department



The research in this Department, with a sevendecade legacy, focuses on physical metallurgy along with processing, microstructural characterization, mechanical behavior and environmental degradation of materials, as well as computational approaches for design and development of materials. Over the years, it has also expanded into diverse areas such as energy materials, biomaterials, ceramics & composites, electronic and magnetic materials, and computational modeling, serving as a model for academia nationwide. Our community includes undergraduate and postgraduate students, research scholars, faculty, and staff. Renowned for our comprehensive curriculum and alumni leadership, we engage with organizations like Tata Steel, Vedanta Resources, DRDO, DAE, CSIR and ISRQ, providing innovative solutions. Committed to academic excellence and nation-building, we evolve to meet the changing needs of academia and industry, nurturing the next generation of leaders.

About IIT Kharagpur









Kharagpur - a small town tucked away in the eastern corner of India, famous until 1950 as home to the longest railway platform in the world - became the nursery where the seed of the IIT system was planted in 1951. IIT Kharagpur started its journey in the old Hijli Detention Camp in Eastern India, where some of the country's great freedom fighters toiled and sacrificed their lives for India's independence. Spurred by the success of IIT Kharagpur, four younger IITs sprouted around the country in the two following decades, and from these five came thousands of IlTians, the brand ambassadors of modern India. It was the success of this one institution at Kharagpur that wrote India's technological odyssey. The Institute takes pride in its relentless effort to provide the best platform for both education as well as research in the areas of science and technology, infrastructure designs, entrepreneurship, law, management, and medical science and technology. IITKGP is not just the place to study technology, it is the place where students are taught to dream about the future of technology and beam across disciplines, making differences enough to change the world.

Important Dates

Please submit abstract using the google form link provided here

Abstract Submission Closes: August 31, 2024

Deadline for Early Bird Registration: August 31, 2024

Closure of Registration Portal: November 1, 2024 Announcement of Final Program: November 2, 2024

Symposium Committees

International Scientific Advisory Committee

- o Prof. Sir Harry Bhadeshia (Queen Mary University of London)
- Prof. S Kalidindi (Georgia Institute of Technology)
- Prof. Phil. Withers (University of Manchester)
- Prof. Amit Bandyopadhyay (Washington State University)
- **Prof. Lucas Bichler** (University of British Columbia)
- Prof. Paolo Colombo (Penn State)
- Prof. Martin Heilmair (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
- Prof. Nikhilesh Chawla (Purdue University)
- Prof. Amit Misra (University of Michigan)

Indo-Austrian Advisory Committee

- o Prof. J. Bernardi (Technische Universität Wien)
- Dr. Sabine Bodner (Montanuniversität Leoben)
- Dr. Klaudia Hradil (Technische Universität Wien)
- Dr. Manfred Drack (University of Tübingen)
- Dr. ANDRÉ GAZSÓ (Austrian Academy of Sciences)
- o Dr. K. Balasubramanian (Director NFTDC, Hyderabad)
- o Prof. N. Prabhu (IIT Bombay)
- o Dr. M. Roy (DMRL)

National Scientific Advisory Committee

- Prof. Vikram Jayaram (IISc Bangalore)
- Dr. Debashish Bhattacharjee (Tata Steel)
- Prof. I. Samajdar (IIT Bombay)
- Prof. M. Kamaraj (IIT Madras)
- Prof. Kamachi Mudali (HBNI)
- Dr. Vilas Tathavadkar (Hindalco)
- Dr. Amit Chatterjee (Vedanta)

Prof. Bikramjit Basu (IISc Bangalore)

- Dr. Sandip Ghosh Chowdhury (Director, NML)
- Dr. R. Balamuralikrishnan (Director, DMRL)
- Dr. Suman Kumari Mishra (Director, CGCRI)
- o Dr. R. Vijay (ARCI)

Symposium Committees

Core Organizing Committee

- Prof. Shiv Brat Singh, Chairman
- Prof. Rahul Mitra, Convener
- Prof. Tapas Laha, Co-Convener
- Prof. Sumantra Mandal, Co-Convener
- Prof. Kaushik Biswas, Treasurer
- Prof. J. Dutta Majumdar, Coordinator, Technical Committee
- Prof. D. Chakrabarti
- Prof. T. K. Bandvopadhavav
- Prof. Mangal Roy
- Prof. Somjeet Biswas
- Prof. Indrani Sen
- Prof. Siddhartha Roy
- Prof. Chenna Rao Borra
- Prof. Manas Paliwal
- Prof. Amlan Dutta
- Prof. Sankha Mukherjee

Registration Fee (Early-bird)

Foreign Delegates*: USD 500

Academia: ₹10000

Industry: ₹12000

Students**: ₹4000

Registration Fee (Regular)

Foreign Delegates*: USD 550

Academia: ₹11000

Industry: ₹13200

Students**: ₹4400

*Registration fee includes conference materials, food, and certificates for participants. The fee excludes GST (currently @18% of registration fee), which must be paid during online registration. Additionally, the registration fee does not include lodging expenditure. Limited in-campus accommodations are available on a first-come, firstserved basis. Please contact Prof. T. K. Bandyopadhayay (tapas@rgsoipl.iitkgp.ac.in) for out of campus accommodations (depending on availability).

- * Based on the country where the affiliated institute/university is situated.
- ** Individuals pursuing an academic degree.

Our Sponsors



5[™] INDO-AUSTRIAN SYMPOSIUM ON MATERIALS ENGINEERING (IASME-2024)

DEPARTMENT OF METALLURGICAL AND MATERIALS ENGINEERING INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KHARAGPUR

















